BTA Parliament adopts official seal, elects additional officers

By Ali G. Macabalang

BTA OFFICIAL SEAL. Bangsamoro Members of Parliament pose for a photo during the presentation of the BTA Parliament official seal. (Supplied)


The 80-seat Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) Parliament has adopted its official seal and elected more officers in what its leadership described as another essential push towards building genuine autonomy based on moral administration, stable peace and meaningful growth.

The regional legislature passed in session here on Jan. 19 Parliament Bill No. 24led by Speaker sustainable aaon Tuesday, Jan. 19, voted to pass Bill No. 24 adopting its official seal reflective of “its functions, and the struggles and aspirations of its people.”

Speaker Pangalian Balindong, a veteran in regional and national lawmaking works, and other key parliament officials showcased the sample of the circular seal after the session, which jived the second day of commemorative events for the 2nd founding anniversary of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

The seal contains colors similar to those in the BARMM flag – green, yellow, red, and white.

Two green circles form the outer and inner borders of the seal. The words “Bangsamoro Parliament” are in green over white background in the upper portion between the two borders, with the acronym “BARMM” written in white over red in the lower portion between the two borders. The lowest segment contains ‘2019’ being the founding year of the news autonomous region.

In the center of the seal is the flag of the BARMM shaped in a shield surrounded in horseshoe shape by 80 green boxes representing the total number of parliament members.

The kris, a traditional Moro sword, embedded in the flag represents Bangsamoro’s struggle for the right to self-determination; the crescent represents moral governance. Seven-pointed stars represent the provinces and cities that compose the region: Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-tawi; the cities of Marawi, Lamitan, and Cotabato; as well as the cluster of 63 autonomy-opting barangays in North Cotabato.

Above the shield shaped flag is an open book sitting on a stand, signifying the “living adherence of the Parliament to the rule of law.”

The Bangsamoro organic Law or R.A. 11054 provides in Section 4 that “the Official Parliament Seal may be used in all official acts, communications, and other documents of the Bangsamoro Parliament and its members, alongside the Official Bangsamoro Seal…”

At Tuesday’s plenary session, the BTA also elected additional parliament officers, namely Members Ziaur-Rahman Adiong and Nabil Tan as deputy speakers for Lanao del Sur and Sulu, respectively; Paisalin Tago as deputy majority floor leader, and Baintan Ampatuan as deputy minority floor leader.

Representing BARMM Chief Minister Ahod “Hadji Murad” Ebrahim, Regional Executive Secretary Abdulraof “Sammy Gambar” Macacua, a parliament member also, lauded in a brief speech the adoption of the official legislative seal and the election of additional BTA key officers.

The parliament suspended its regular session until next week, January 26, for the conduct of events marking the 2nd BARMM foundation anniversary celebration.

Speaker Balindong joined by Majority Floor Leader Lanang Ali Jr. and fellow lawyer-members Omar Yasser Sema and Jose Lorena subsequently held a press conference. AGM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s