BARMM District Engineers vow moral governance

By Ali G. Macabalang

OATH FOR MORAL GOVENANCE. BARMM Public Works Minister Eduard Guerra administers oath for moral governance of retained Lanao del Sur 2nd District Engineer Maldamin Decampong on Dec. 16 in Cotabato City. (BPI photo)


The Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) has installed to office its district engineers in constituent provinces in separate ceremonies this month, with the designated officials pledging utmost observance of moral governance in engineering activities.

BARMM’s Public Works Minister Eduard Uy Guerra administered the oath-taking ceremonies, mandating the newly installed field engineering officials to make oaths for moral administration and make the difference in the autonomous region, which still belongs to the country’s circle of three “three poorest regions.”

Stakeholders lauded the BARMM processes in the wake of President Duterte’s pronouncements that the Department Public Works and Highways (DPWH) has remained one of government agencies replete with alleged graft and corrupt cases.    

Minister Guerra, an architect by profession administered the latest oath-taking ceremony on Lanao del Sur 2nd District Engineer Maldamin B. Decampong on December 16 here.

Engr. Decampong had served as founding head of the Malabang, Lanao del Sur-District Engineering office under the administration of Regional Governor Lininding Pangadaman of the defunct Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

His oath-making followed similar acts early this month by six other district engineers in other BARMM areas.

The Bureau of Public Information (BPI) named the six earlier installed officials as Omar Istarul of Basilan lone district, Ajan Ajijul of Sulu 1st District, Az-zamier Arbison of Sulu 2nd district, Borris Zanzibar Kadil of Tawi-Tawi lone district, Emran Buisan of Maguindanao 2nd district, and Abolcair Langilao of Lanao del Sur 1st District.

Not mentioned or included in the list of installed district engineers was that of the first district of Maguindanao, which Engineer James Mlok headed under the administrations of Governors Hooky Adiong and Mujiv Hataman in the defunct ARMM.

Engr. Decampong was all praises for the BARMM governance in giving him the opportunity to prove his worth.

“I assure the Bangsamoro leadership that I will live up to their expectations and will deliver MPW’s commitments through moral governance,” the BPI quoted Decampong as saying on Dec. 16.

Also sworn to office on the same day were Director General Engr. Danilo A. Ong and Atty. Sittie Nadia M. Karim, CPA, as the new Director for Management Support Service of MPW.

Decampong, together with Deputy Chief Minister Ali Solaiman, recently turned over P90-million worth completed infra-projects to recipient local government units in Lanao’s 2nd District last November.

BARMM Parliament’s Committee on Finance approved recently some P15-billion worth infra-projects for the whole region’s fiscal year 2021, including the 63 Barangays in North Cotabato.

Identified projects on MPWs Bangsamoro Expenditure Program (BEP) include bridges, major and local road networks, shore/slope and flood control facilities, seaports and potable water systems. (AGM)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s